On Getting Over It

♫ “I’ll be alright. Just not tonight. But someday!” ♫

Don’t. Don’t get over it. Not just yet. So, when your friends roll their eyes at you and tell you to get over it, don’t. Don’t do it just because they’re over it. Because, surprise surprise, while you say you’re over it, the truth is that you’re not. So don’t.

Don’t worry about looking weak because we all have our days. Vulnerability, if done right, allows you acknowledge that you are merely human and that it’s okay to live completely in the moment. But you must remember: this is not the end for you. And while this might be bad news in the short run, in the long run, it means you can choose where you want to go.

So, don’t move on so quickly. Because most times, when you make that mistake, unfinished business may come back to haunt you. Instead:

1) Stop and reflect – Be vulnerable. Accept that things aren’t the way you want them to be. How did you get here? What are you feeling and why are you feeling this way? The most important aspect of this step is to be honest with yourself.

2) Decide – I think something we often over look about our experiences is that we can decide what they mean to us. Albeit, things change meanings over time, but that’s the beauty of it. We can decide now what people, places, and things mean to us. And as we grow and regrow, we have the freedom and, hopefully, the strength to change the heavy definitions that impact our lives.

3) Choose – With what you’ve decided, where do you want to go from here? Like I said, this might not always be the same path you stick to, but its a start. And when you’re in a slump, a start might be all you need to fly.

Sometimes my friends says its dangerous to drop everything and figure stuff out, but I find it productive. It might take a while, but by the end of it, I’ve accomplished something huge. I’ve totally grown as a person. Moreover, “it” no longer bothers me once I’ve made up my mind. At least, not until I’m ready to grow some more.

So if something is not sitting right with you, don’t ignore it. Succumb to it. Find out more about it. Because only then can you control it! Good luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Inspiring, Music

One response to “On Getting Over It

  1. Considering the people, places, and experiences that I have faced in my life – it is very hard to get over and move forward. I spend money, dedication, therapy, counseling, and whatever else I can to forget the past, come to terms with what has happened, and move forward to be happy. Your suggestions are several of the steps that help someone move forward – but it is not always as easy as it looks. Freedom comes with letting go of the past, and I pray for that everyday. I really enjoyed your blog – keep up the good work. I’m also looking for insightful and informative blogs such as your own, I will make sure to visit your page more often. Please visit http://www.mynutritioninsight.com for information and disease prevention and healthy food and drink recipes.

Leave a Reply

