On Missing You

 

I can smell your skin in my dreams. I can feel the sweat on your pillows and your arm behind my head. I can see it all so clearly. I can hardly breathe because it seems more real than not.

It’s just one of those days, you know. Not bad, but just weary enough for general dissatisfaction. If we could only quit the world and run away. Just for a little while. We could go to Pennsylvania or to castles, I don’t really care. But I just wanna go. Now. With you.

Man, I miss you tonight. I miss you something fierce. I miss you something strong. But maybe I miss you something a little sad too. Because I know the paths we’ve chosen to take are long, winding, and rough. The future looms. It taunts and intimidates and scolds.

But no matter how crazy this world gets, I can’t shake this feeling that we’re meant for each other. We’re meant to laugh and dance and cry together. We’re meant to figure it out. Together.

You’re not my other half, sweets. You’re not my prince charming or my knight in shining armor. But you are the love of my life. You are my best friend. You’re my rock; my reason; my home.

3 Comments

Filed under Love

3 responses to “On Missing You

  1. love these words. I’m fortunate to have my best friend with me, but I can relate, he is my “home.”

  2. I refer to the love of my life as “home” because sometimes I feel lost…but when I am with him…I am home.

Leave a Reply

